MaaS Alliance officially established

The Finnish Ministry of Transport, ERTICO – ITS Europe, ACEA, IRU, FIA, Cubic, MaaS Finland, RACC, Siemens, and Xerox are amongst the 18 public authority, transport company and organisation founders of the MaaS Alliance that met in Glasgow today.

Launched in Bordeaux last October, the MaaS Alliance, a public-private partnership has been officially established as an independent organisation in Brussels. This first meeting in Glasgow is the opportunity to kick off the 4 working groups activities (Single market, End user perspective, Legal framework, and Technical) and to set a plan for the further development of the Alliance.   

The Mobility as a Service topic itself is heavily represented at this year’s ITS European Congress with Plenary, Executive and Special Interest sessions focusing of different aspects of the business.

“Mobility as a Service has been hot news in all corners of Europe since it was presented at the ITS Europe Congress in Helsinki two years ago. The MaaS Alliance is the initiative dedicated to building the foundations for a fast-growing and open market in MaaS, for Europe and globally”. Cees de Wijs, Chair of the ERTICO Supervisory Board, said in his speech at the Opening Ceremony today.

Mobility as a Service solutions put users at the heart of the transport network, offering tailor-made travel services and deliver mobility options that are environmentally, economically and socially sustainable. MaaS Alliance is an ambitious project which will make the large scale deployment of MaaS services in Europe possible. The Board of Directors is the governing body of the Alliance and is composed of Jacob Bangsgaard (Director General, FIA Region 1) as President, Cees de Wijs (Chair of the Supervisory Board, ERTICO – ITS Europe and CEO, Dynniq) as Vice-President, Anne Berner (Finnish Minister of Transport and Communication), Sampo Hietanen (CEO, MaaS Finland Oy), Richard Harris (Director of Communications and Marketing, Xerox), Martin Howell (Director of External Affairs, Cubic Transportation Systems), Michael Nielsen (General Delegate, IRU), Erik Jonnaert (Secretary General, ACEA), and Nick Knorr (Programme Director, Catapult Transport Systems). Rasmus Lindholm, Director of Communications and Partnership at ERTICO – ITS Europe, is the MaaS Alliance Secretary General.

Eero Lukin