Call for applications: INKA – Innovative Cities

The new Government Programme imposes significant cuts on Tekes's operations. For example, funding of the INKA – Innovative Cities programme will cease. However, this year's appropriations will remain unchanged and the INKA programme will mainly continue to operate, during this year, according to the original plan.
Application period: Tue 09.06.2015 - Wed 30.09.2015

Tekes is launching a call to research organisations for project proposals centred around the themes of the INKA programme

The projects to be funded must lie within the INKA programme's mutually agreed focus areas and goals, which have been identified in cooperation with the participating urban areas:

• Smart City and renewable industry
o Transport as a service/real-time situation awareness
o Waste management and industrial symbioses
o Smart city lighting
o Low-carbon construction/city

• Cyber safety
o The safety of digital health data
o Cyber safety in industry, smart construction and smart traffic
o Privacy, data protection and digital identity
o The development of situational awareness, business continuity planning and risk management from the perspective of cyber safety

• Health of the future
o Commercialisation of ICT technology-based health services
o New solutions to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of the patient treatment chain
o Health behaviour and the need for health services, the processes of the service system
o The management, changes and business models of health services in ecosystems

• Sustainable energy solutions
o Smart Grids and energy storage
o Gas economy
o Waste management and industrial symbioses

• Bioeconomy
o New value networks and operating methods of the bioeconomy
     • Bioinformation economy, information logistics and digitality
     • New high-VAT bioeconomy products – and their innovative applications – that impact on the markets

The focus areas and goals are described in closer detail in this annex (pdf). (Only in Finnish)

The project participants or beneficiaries must include companies, research organisations, educational institutions or other public bodies from at least one urban area accepted onto the INKA programme and from at least two regions.

When selecting the projects, we will place an emphasis on projects that will quickly yield benefits and can be fully completed during the current INKA programme period (the programme will end in 2017), or that can obtain further funding from other sources, for example through the Horizon 2020 programme. The funded projects must end by 31 May 2017.

How will projects be evaluated?

1. We fund projects that are challenging and inventive in terms of research – ones that create entirely new innovations in the market – within the field of the call for proposals. In particular, we are seeking projects that enable major growth in international business and companies.

2. Projects should be planned in cooperation with companies and the coordinator of each theme (their contact information is listed at the end of this call for applications). Build a research plan around the shared research needs of cluster of companies. Avoid resolving cases that are close to the product development activities of individual enterprises.

3. Participation notices submitted by businesses play an important part in the project evaluation process. Companies participating in projects must answer the following questions:
What are the most important expertise needs identified by the business that will ensure its ability to reinvent itself and make it competitive in this field internationally?
• How will the outcomes of the research project increase the company’s know-how?
• How will the company make use of the outcomes of the research project in practice?
Each company's notification of participation in a project (rtf) must be submitted to Tekes as an attachment to the actual application by 30 September 2015.

4. Submit the one-page preliminary notification to the coordinator of the theme by 21 August 2015. Notification template (rtf).

5. Notification of project preparation (rtf) alongside the INKA coordinators must be submitted to Tekes as an attachment to the actual application by 30 September 2015.

6. Invest in a clear and versatile plan for utilising results. We support the planning of projects that promote the growth and modernisation of medium-sized businesses’ international activities.

7. Acquire corporate funding that covers at least 10 per cent of the approved project costs.

8. We do not provide funding for research that overlaps with the activities of the Strategic Research Council, the Academy of Finland and Strategic Centres for Science, Technology and Innovation.

How to secure funding from Structural Funds for a project?

This call for applications is open to research projects that adhere to Tekes's national funding model.

Funding from Structural Funds (ERDF) is also available at the discretion of Tekes. When an application is being assessed, Tekes will enter discussions with the applicant on whether structural funding is possible.

If ERDF funding is possible, the applicant should follow Tekes's instructions on complementing the application, the project plan, the budget and the financing plan to meet the criteria of Tekes's general terms and conditions for ERDF funding, the eligibility regulation and the requirements of the structural fund programme.

For example, all projects must support the achievement of some of the goals laid down in the "Sustainable growth and work 2014–2020" Structural Fund programme and the project must be suitable for the focus areas and goals agreed for the INKA programme. Furthermore, the participants or beneficiaries of the INKA project must include companies, research organisations, educational institutions or other public bodies from at least one urban area accepted onto the INKA programme and from at least two regions.

The total amount of ERDF funding available for national themes is EUR 9 million, to be distributed at the discretion of Tekes.

How to apply for funding

Apply online in our online service. The applicant must log in using his or her personal banking credentials. Select "public research networked with companies" as the research project type.

The application period ends on 30 September 2015.


For further information, please contact:

Markku Koponen, markku.koponen(at), +358 (0)50 5577 646
In matters related to structural funding: Ritva Autio, ritva.autio(at), +358 (0)50 5577 869


Sustainable energy solutions

  • until 3 July Esko Ala-Myllymäki, esko.ala-myllymaki(at), tel. +358 (0)40 591 2882
  • From 4 July to 2 August Mika Konu, mika.konu(at), tel. +358 (0)400 730 747
  • from 3.8. onwards Esko Ala-Myllymäki and Tommi Sykkö, tommi.sykko(at)

Cyber safety

Health of the future

  • week 25: Noora Jansson, BusinessOulu, tel. +358 (0)40 753 2917
  • week 26: Salla Hirvonen, BusinessOulu, tel. +358 (0)40 726 1842
  • week 27: Johanna Jylhä-Ollila, Kuopio Innovation, tel. +358 (0)45 139 8984 and Kimmo Koponen, Helsinki Business Hub, tel. +358 (0)44 757 2244
  • week 28-30: holiday, please do not contact
  • week 31: Anneli Tuomainen, Kuopio Innovation, tel. +358 (0)40 501 8030
  • August: Noora Jansson, BusinessOulu, tel. +358 (0)40 753 2917

 Smart City and renewable industry

  • weeks 26 and 30 -> Jari Jokinen, jari.jokinen(at), tel. +358 (0)40 806 2519
  • weeks 26 and 31 -> Tatu Miikkulainen, tatu.miikkulainen(at), tel. +358 (0)40 822 8250
  • weeks 26–29, 31–33 and 35 -> Katri Parovuori, katri.parovuori(at), tel. +358 (0)40 506 3062
  • weeks 26–27 and 32 -> Tomi Tura, tomi.tura(at), tel. +358 (0)50 323 1050
  • weeks 27 and 29–30 Elina Uitamo, elina.uitamo(at), tel. +358 (0)50 598 5817

Tekes's contact persons for each theme:
Smart City: Jouko Salo (jouko.salo (at)
Health: Outi Tuovila (outi.tuovila (at)
Bioeconomy: Veli-Pekka Ihanus (veli-pekka.ihanus (at)
Energy: Jarkko Piirto (jarkko.piirto (at)
Cyber safety: Timo Taskinen (timo.taskinen (at)


comments powered by Disqus